TINY TUESDAY

When we were driving home yesterday, I saw outside our fence some beautiful forsythia, so when I got in, I found some secateurs and then walked round to cut a few branches, intending to use the flowers for today’s Tiny Tuesday challenge.  However when I got up close to the shrub, I could see that it had been rather battered by the recent storms, so although I cut some, didn’t feel they were suitable for my Blip.

However, I did find some tiny white blossoms so cut a couple of branches of those and brought them indoors.  These tiny blossoms have weathered the storms and have obviously revelled in the intermittent sunshine we have had, opening themselves up to take in more light and warmth.  

Overnight, and in the warmth of the house, the tightly furled leaves have opened up, so make a good contrast to the whiteness of the blossom and the beautiful orange stamens.  We’re not quite sure what sort of tree it is - we have apple and plum trees outside the fence, so it could be either - or perhaps neither - a Blipper more conversant with trees might know.

The way the tiny leaves have unfurled made me think of how we can sometimes be tightly closed, finding difficulty in expressing how we feel and it often takes the warmth, understanding, empathy and love of someone close to us to awaken what we have pushed down inside and to enable us to open up and show our vulnerability.

I have been greatly blessed by a Blip friend, who has sent me two books by John O’Donohue - this is a quote from one of the books - enjoy!

“When love awakens in your life, 
     in the night of your heart, 
          it is like the dawn breaking within you. 
Where before there was anonymity, 
     now there is intimacy; 
where before there was fear, 
     now there is courage; 
where before in your life there was awkwardness, 
     now there is a rhythm of grace and gracefulness; 
where before you used to be jagged, 
     now you are elegant and in rhythm with your self. 
When love awakens in your life, 
     it is like a rebirth, 
          a new beginning.” 
John O'Donohue - Anam Cara: A Book of Celtic Wisdom

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.