WHO KNEW...

...that you could sleep AND blow bubbles at the same time?  

During our WhatsApp chats, my lovely Nigerian friend, Chi, was telling me that Nazom, who was born on the 8 February, was suffering with colic, which as many of you who have had children will know, is very distressing to both baby and mother. 

I mentioned to her that we used to give our sons Woodward’s Gripe Water, which seemed to help.  Being Nigerian, Chi hadn’t heard of this - and said in a chat a couple of days ago that she hadn’t had the chance to go out to buy any, so when my lovely neighbour, Lynn, knocked my door last night to say that she was going shopping, and asked if I needed anything, as she normally does, I suddenly thought that she could get some Gripe Water.  An hour later, Lynn appeared complete with said bottle - so this morning I delivered it to Chi. 

We met outside after she had taken Ngozi, her other daughter to pre-school, and I handed over the package - suitably masked and distanced - and managed to get a quick shot of Nazom, sleeping peacefully and blowing bubbles!! 

I hope that this old-fashioned remedy will do the trick and ease the baby’s colic, which will make it easier for all the family.  Chi has just messaged to say that having read the instructions, it shouldn’t be given to babies less than a month old, so they will have to soothe her some other way until next Monday! 

It was great to see Chi looking so good - it can’t be easy coping with three little ones and all that entails, but I’m looking forward to seeing her again as soon as we are allowed to, so that we can go for a walk and chat together.  

We didn't chat for long today because it was quite cold but when we left each other, Chi did say I was her “Mum in England”.  I’m so glad to be able to support them - and think I may have found another recipient for my fingerless gloves!! As I took the small photograph in my collage, we laughed as Chi held up the box and said, “I’m advertising this, let’s hope it works!” 

"The child is the beauty of God 
     present in the world, 
          that greatest gift to a family." 
Mother Teresa

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.