BARBON - ST BARTHOLEWS CHURCH

Such a lovely day today.  I decided that despite the weather I wanted to go out somewhere today.   Hubby wanted to stay home to do certain chores and his garden but G said he'd like to come out with me.  It was very last thing. 

I had a quick look for churches with cafes nearby in the area and up popped Barbon.  Now Barbon is a tiny but picturesque village sort of inbetween Kirkby Lonsdale and Dent.  Barbon is in Cumbria but is right on the edge of the Yorkshire Dales.   Now I've been past the turn of for this village many times, in fact only last week on the way to Sedbergh.  I've even driven through the village before on my way to Dent but never actually stopped.

Well what a lovely little place it is, even in showery rain.  It is a great place for walkers as there are many walks through, via or starting from the village.  It is small, it has a good sized village hall with a good car park, The Churchmouse community shop and cafe, perfect for coffee and cake, a pub called The Barbon Inn and a Methodist Church. 

There are times when this can get busy with walkers and fell runners so best to be sure you go on a quiet day, which we had done.

We started off in the Churchmouse cafe for coffee.  I was tempted by their homemade soups but it was only 10:45 so too early really.  A really lovely little welcome and a pleasant little community shop - mainly cheese, wine, oatcakes/crackers and some teas and jams.  A small but nice selection of  cakes and a small but lovely little lunch menu.

After coffee we headed off the church.  All this is within a very short walk of each other.

The church is small, in a picturesque setting with beautifully kept grounds.  Now as you know I've been in a lot of churches this year, all very interesting and lovely in their own way - but there was something about this church which felt so comfortable with me. We were the only ones there and it isn't grand or anything, just very pleasant but I loved it.

We spent quite a bit of time in there, photographing,  just sitting and contemplating.  Then went round the grounds, talked to the sheep and lambs in the next field (much to their astonishment by the looks on their faces) and then to the pub for lunch.  I was tempted to go back to the  Churchman  but G suggested trying the pub.

I'm so glad we did.  What a lovely, very picturesque little pub,  I believe it has rooms as well.  Another small but delicious lunch-time menu - we just homemade quiche and salad.  

The woman at the bar was very welcoming and chatty.  She lives in Sedbergh and used to work at The Three Hares there but left  a little while ago and came to work at Barbon.  The two chefs are both Scottish so that was great for G.

After that we just wended our way back to the car and got back just in time before the rain returned.

I've decided I want to go back with Hubby on a nice day, and investigate short but pleasant walks in the area.  

Back home now.  As we came back into Grange the sun was shining - f course the saying is that "Its always sunny in Grange"!!!??? LOL.

It's going to take me ages to process all the photos I took  as well as the ones that G took, I shoot in RAW G in JPEG so it will be interesting.  I will then do some collages.

That's all from me for today.  I will catch up on your blips soon.  Do take care and stay safe and I will see you all tomorrow.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.