A day in the life

By Shelling

Preparations

All morning and some of the afternoon has been devoted to rehearsing. My group of musicians and our project has reached the last rehearsing session. Today was spent on run-throughs of the bigger chunks and for the whole show, twice. Next time we meet will be for the dressrehearsal, in front of an invited audience. It'll be fine. Of course I would like a couple more rehearsals of details but all of us are busy doing other things, this is what we get.

In the evening I was working at a stand-up-performance at the theatre as audience-host. A pleasant job, I like chatting with the audience, calming them down if they are worried, helping them to find their seats. The blip is from the final run-through of the lighting and sound effects for the performance, the actor loves soundeffects, you see his neck in the blip, loudly enjoying all the effects. His name is Anders Johansson, nicknamed "Ankan" 'the duck'. Anders is a name that in Sweden often ends up as the nickname "Ankan" in school. His whole performance was about expectations and failures and not being tough enough to fit in anywhere. I like his humour very much and recognise myself a great deal. I suppose that's why I like some of the comedians and others not at all, the identification-factor. Home by half past ten, time for bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.