A day in the life

By Shelling

Moments

Martin, my landlord and co-musician at the morning service on Sunday had booked the church this afternoon so that we could rehears a little. I've arranged the theme from "Deerhunter", the "Cavatina", that I still play every time there is a chance. Martin is the cantor of the church and plays the organ. He also plays the accordeon and accompany two of the songs I'm singing. I love making music this way with a fellow musician, unpretentious, almost in the moment.

Later in the afternoon one of my oldest students from the time I lived in the north of Sweden called to talk about the now, and a little of the past for a while. A very dear friend of his, almost a second parent, as he said, died last week but they had some time together during the last days of his life. This made him think about other people who had been important to him and he rang me to say I was one of them. A very moving moment for me and I could confirm that he's also been an important person in my life. It's lovely that we can stop the rushing to keep up with time and stop for a moments reflection on how we got here. While we were talking, I took this picture to send to him so he could see the same view I saw during our conversation, the only picture today, a moment in time.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.