WhatADifferenceADayMakes

By Veronica

Tourist trap

Busy day today ... after a strenuous yoga class (I felt quite pleased with some of the things I was able to do) I was invited out with some ladies who lunch. Six of us went to a beach bar on the beach at the other end of Almuñecar, that does flamenco on Friday lunchtimes. Well ... "flamenco" -- it's very much an easy listening/watching style. 

I was somewhat concerned when they started with a tape of classical music to which the dancer performed. Did not work at all for me! Or for Michele, the classical musician in our group. Also we were close to the speaker, and it was so loud we could hardly hear each other speak. Luckily it was only one number -- they then reverted to two guitars and an occasional fiddle. The music was mostly a medley of popular songs of various eras and origins -- they segued into My Way at one point. But as I've said before, no-one plays guitar in public round here unless they are good at it, and the dancer was just fine as well. It was a good background to a convivial meal. Plus, it was a lovely day for sitting on the beach -- hot, but with a light breeze.

We've eaten here once before and it was excellent. Less good this time -- the salad as always was lovely, but the sardine eaters complained about the lack of freshness, and my vegetarian filo roll with stir-fried vegetables and coconut and curry sauce was enormous -- I couldn't finish it. 

I left at four in order to go on my next errand -- the aborted trip to the vet that should have happened yesterday. I'd failed to get an appointment, but the vet squeezed us in within five minutes of arrival. To our joint surprise, she found another infected bite on his right front leg that we had failed to notice before, and, as I had already identified the other day, he has broken claws on both of his back feet -- goodness knows how he did that. So more antibiotics to give him, and another appointment in a week's time. He is so much better than he was though.

Back home I baked the bread that had been in the fridge for 18 hours or so waiting for me to have time to bake it. It turned out very well. And then aperos on the terrace in the sunshine, a well deserved Rangpur G and T.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.