Mathilda

The oldest of the our hens and very forthright. It's always difficult to get a close up of her as she wants to be up close and personal the moment she sees the phone come out for a photo! She has made friends with the newbies after a little sorting out of the pecking order at the beginning. We had three eggs from the newbies today extra photo. 
Barry was away all day fetching new parts to fix the LR and taking his mum to the hospital. His dad had all tubes removed today and they are talking of his return home when social services have sorted what is required. There didn't seem to be any indication when that will be. They will definitely need a bit of help.
I had breakfast at a friends which was delightful and a peek into their polytunnel, always an adventure!
Reg and I then spent a quiet day together and managed a walk without getting wet which was a real bonus having looked at the forecast in the morning.
I received an email from Bristol Court, where mum lives, with the meter readings for the electricity. They still haven't read them as instructed by the electricity company and also not sent photographs so I've had to ask them to do it again. I feel the electricity company should be dealing with this with them but that doesn't seem to be an option. My patience is wearing a little thin on this now!
Most of my seedlings are making an appearance in the greenhouse which is great to see and brings the thoughts of their harvest closer. Although there is still time for failure!
Having watched Gardeners' World this evening I have ordered a  couple more packets of flowers seeds. Despite having a huge garden I think I will be growing quite a few things in pots up nearer the house this year. The garden is alive with rabbits and pheasants strutting about just digging and eating what they fancy. They tend not to bother too much with my large pots. I like to see the wildlife so I'll just enjoy what makes it through without being devoured.
Grateful:
For friends who cook a lovely breakfast
For the weather forecasters getting it wrong
For time to just sit

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.