River Mouth

For the first time this week - but for my visit to the surgery - I actually manage to leave the house. It’s a glorious morning, and G - wonderful as ever - drives me over to West Shore.  Despite it being such a regular feature in my blips, it’s only the second time we’ve been there this year - and last it was a stonechat who took centre stage. 

Today, it’s the scenery itself that dominates. The tide is out - my favourite time - sun glistening on both sea and sand. Normally, I’d walk for out to the water, but today my energy only allows a short walk along the dunes which become a feature in their own right. However short the walk, it’s absolutely wonderful to be outside. 

Further on, as we travel back, there’s a sudden glimpse of the glassy waters beyond the river mouth, the access marked by a navigation beacon on the sandbanks. Across the water there’s Anglesey and Puffin Island, with Trwyn Du lighthouse marking out the larger island’s tip - much clearer viewed large of course.  And it’s this that just wins over my previous shots to become my main, leaving West Shore sand dunes to be extras. 

My brief excursion has been wonderful - though I’m surprised by just how little energy I have. Still, it’s definitely progress! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.