Maureen6002

By maureen6002

Tempest tossed

It’s a scheduled hospital visit today - my three monthly catheter change. It’s just under a year since my nightmare 22 hours in A&E and I just can’t believe I’ve still got a catheter after all this time. Back in January I was hoping that would be the final time I had to go through this procedure - if only! 

At least these things become routine, and although recent pain has probably made me a little wary, I’m really very calm - almost relaxed, when I arrive at the urology unit. Things don’t go quite to plan, however, and after two nurses and the duty doctor have failed to complete the task, I’m told I’ll have to have it done in theatre under general anaesthetic. When did I last eat, they ask …….

To be honest, I think that’s the least of my problems as it’s clear I could be waiting for hours if not days for a space in theatre to become available. The consultant comes to see me between his theatre slots, all kitted out in scrubs.  Would I like him to have one final attempt? Whilst a further attempt does not fill me with joy, anything is better than languishing around somewhere in the hospital waiting for a theatre space, so I agree - and thankfully he succeeds. Crisis averted. 

So I’m able to go home, mildly traumatised by the whole thing, so stopping off at Llanddulas beach to watch the breakers rolling into shore is probably exactly what I need. Wind and noise and spray wash away the memories of hospital for now - and provide watery textures for today’s Mono Monday. 

Next week I will return to see the consultant again and discuss what happens next….. 


Thanks to JohnEdward for hosting. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.