We set off in the car to climb on Pike o' Blisco, but by the time we reached the top of the Wrynose Pass it was obvious that we'd be in the wet cloud if we walked up there, so opted to go back and walk to Middlefell Buttress.

Fi and I climbed it two years ago, but today we led the pitches we seconded before, which was great. The last pitch starts with a traverse along a blocky ledge with a slightly overhanging wall next to you,  and this was mine. I moved very gingerly as there's nothing to hold onto until you reach the end and can grab the flake. Fi took the direct start but she was on a rope, I looked at it but didn't fancy it on lead.

When I got to the top two young lads with chalkbags but no helmets quickly caught up with me. They'd probably soloed the whole route in 20 minutes!

The descent is a bit precarious, but we took our time. Near the bottom Fi found a rolled up windproof and a harness in its bag... we decided to take them to the pub. I was fairly sure who they belonged to, and sure enough the party of three we'd followed up the route were sat inside having a pint. Success!

We had a pint too, and then Fi's husband arrived and it turned into two pints so I drank a lot of water back at my tent as I think I was a bit dehydrated before the beer, never mind afterwards!

I think I took the photo from the top.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.