Spring Fever

I had my hair cut this morning, and on my return I have done lots of spring cleaning type jobs. 

What is it about this time of year that made me want to shampoo some chair cushions today, and put several coats of oil on the wooden handles of my very old Prestige kitchen utensils? (They were a wedding present 51 years ago and are still going strong!). 

I seem to get this bug every year when the sun warms up sufficiently to make me feel that summer is truly on the way, and it makes me want to spring clean the house in readiness for the sunny summer days.

These bluebells in our garden are probably a hybrid; I have tried to dig up all the Spanish variety and these are definitely more slender, but don’t (yet) arch over gracefully like the native ones. However, I still think they’re beautiful, growing in a lovely clump around the woody trunk of our Cotinus (smoke bush).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.