Sharing the track

Our reunion ended with lunch, after two final sessions of talks from many of those who have been here. There have been 22 presentations in what has been called the scientific programme. Many were more whimsical than scientific, and some were personal stories. 

At last night's dinner, one of our number read out the names of those of our graduating class whom we know have died, with a brief summation of their life when known. It was a time for reflection indeed.

This afternoon I went for a jog in the reverse direction to the circuit I took on Monday. I had barely started on the road up to where the track to the Flagstaff began, when I saw a Weka come out of some vegetation and walk along the edge of the road. A fir distance in front of me. 

Got a couple of photos and started to walk closer toward it. I was being ignored by the Weka; however it didn't ignore a car coming down the road, disappearing quickly into the undergrowth. 

Feeling pleased that I had seen the Weka and got some photos, I carried on to the start of the track some five minutes up the road. As I started on the track I was faced with another Weka, which again seemed very comfortable about sharing the track with me. And gave me today's blip.

The Weka is one of New Zealand/Aotearoa's flightless birds.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.