Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

The Guardian

A male Anna's hummingbird has staked out the feeder at my parent's condo and is zealously guarding it against all comers.  In between sips, he perches in one of the trees, ending in so perfectly that you'd walk right past if you didn't know he was there.  I was actually hoping to get a decent shot of either a Bushtit or a Chestnut-sided Chickadee for today's blip, but neither cooperated.  I still have time.

The weather is pretty crappy so we've enjoyed just hanging out with each together.  This morning we hauled 3 boxes out of the top shelf of a closet and carefully unpacked and cataloged my mom's collection of native Alaskan dolls.  Some are easily 100 years or more old; all at least 40 years. Mom used to collect them and Dad went to great lengths to find unique handcrafted dolls for her on birthdays and holidays.  I think the entire collection has been boxed for over 30 years so taking them all out was truly a trip down memory lane.  I think I can say that all of us really enjoyed it.  And a childhood friend of mine who still lives in Alaska and has deep ties to the indigenous community agreed to have a look at the pictures and see if maybe one of the museums in Alaska might want the dolls.  It seems a shame that they shouldn't be an enjoyed.

Because it is cold and rainy, we've mostly stayed inside although I did brave the elements for a short while to get these and a few other shots.

I'm so grateful to have this time with my parents.  And we all enjoyed dark with dried cherries and almonds after lunch today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.