Rubaiyat of Omar Khayyam

Didn't sleep very well and Ive felt rather weary all day.  I did intend walking to the Co-op but in the end I couldn't be bothered.  So Ive had a nice restful day at home.

Ive mostly watrched TV -- all 3 episodes of the Raoul Moat drama and one episode of Blue LIghts.  I also sorted out a few old clothes to donate to charity.  At the moment Slimming World are running The Big Slimming World Clothes Throw.  You fill a bag with old clothes and your consultant takes the bags to a local Cancer Research shop. Last year over £1 million was raised by SW members around the UK. 

As I didn't go out I had to think of an indoor blip.  So I decided to blip this little book I found yesterday among a box of photos and papers.  It measures 12cm by 9cm and seems quite old. Ive heard the name before but knew nothing about it so I Googled.

Omar Khayyam was born in 1048 and was a Persian polymath known for his contributions to astronomy, mathematics, philosophy and poetry.  A Rubaiyat is.a verse form consisting of four-line stanzas.  Omar Khayyam's work was translated by Edward Fitzgerald in 1859 and it became popular in the English reading world.  It is  a humanistic celebration of life, love and liquor.   I have added an Extra collage showing some of the beautiful borders which appear on every page and the sweet little drawing from the last page.

A few quotes from the book.....................

" Drink wine. This is life eternal. This is all that youth will give you. It is the season for wine, roses and drunken friends. Be happy for this moment"

" Dead yesterdays and unborn tomorrows, why fret about it, if today be sweet"


" The Moving Finger writes, and having writ, Moves on."

Steps today - 4,256

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.