Uncle Stanley

Went to Gateshead this afternoon.  The big Tesco there sells things I can't get in the small Tesco in my village.  Also looked in the charity shops but got nothing.

Gateshead bus station seemed to be in a bit of chaos when I went to get my bus home. Long queues everywhere.  Apparently a few scholars buses had broken down so they had to take buses from other routes - they are contracted to get schoolchildren home so they take priority.  My bus  wasn't cancelled but it was about 15 mins late and it was full already.  I was grateful when someone gave up their seat for me. 

For the Tiny Tuesday challenge our host MaryElizaR gave us a few ideas and one of them was to take a photo of a tiny part of an old photo.  I looked through a box of old photos and came across this one of my Uncle Stanley - my Mam's brother.  He was born in 1922.  Not sure what age he is in the photo but maybe 21 or so. 

He wasn't in the army for long as apparently he returned home early suffering from shell shock.  He then worked at the Royal Ordnance Factory in Birtley - my Grandad also worked there.  Uncle Stanley never married and lived next door to me with my Grandma and Grandad until his death in 1983 aged just 61. He was a lovely man - very gentle and kind.  In this photo I think he looks a bit like John Lennon..... maybe its just the glasses.

Steps today - 7,051

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.