Raising a glass

One can mourn a loss or celebrate a life, and today we celebrated Noel's.

As funerals go everything went splendidly, and after the service and the cremation we all came together to chat over a fine buffet and a glass of something or other. It was delightful to encounter a few of Noels - and my - work colleagues as well as family and friends over many years.

Noel was rather fond of an after meal aperitif, and so it felt appropriate to have one to hand as I took advantage of a short visit from Charlie to grab us in our finery. Of course it then descended into the standard...

Farewell Noel. You changed my life. I took on your feisty young lady, and - at your urge - your place of employment. Life was never the same again. So, my thanks. ;-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.