samsticks

By samsticks

Fireside tales

Last night's dinner with Gina was fantastic - it was so good to finally have some time to ourselves! I had what I think is the most expensive pint I've ever bought. It was $13.50 for a New Zealand craft Imperial Pale Ale. I wasn't being too poncey, it was a craft beer and burger joint and all their pints cost the same... It was good, but certainly not $13.50 worth! That's 8 pounds 73p in my old money. That should have bought me at least 4 pints!! Anyway, it was special to be out, so it didn't really matter...

Today I had my first "Daddy Day", where Gina left Miles in my hands and went off to do her own thing (which happened to be sewing curtains and cushion covers... the mind boggles) with Laura. I went over to Laura's place and hung out with Patch and Isaac, their 7 month old. Things went pretty well really! We're lucky to have such an awesome little guy who behaved well for his dad.

Disaster struck, however, when I realised that I'd brought my camera (obviously), but hadn't put my memory card back in from uploading yesterday's blip. Nightmare. I'd wanted to do a 'key players' with Patch, but it was not to be. We ended up getting take out when the mums returned and sitting around their fire getting warm and sharing travelling tales. It was great to hang out with them all. By this time Gina had provided a CF card, but the light was long gone, and we were all a bit frazzled for portraits. The fire, therefore becomes my blip, and the "key players" will have to wait until next time. It's fantastic to have a real fire - I think it's something I may insist on if we ever claw the money together to buy our own place.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.