Alighted at speed

The day started as I like weekend mornings. A quiet awakening at or not long after sunrise. Brew a pot of plunger coffee, and mix muesli, berries and yoghurt for breakfast. In bed; with my iPad to check the football results (if there are any before tackling the Guardian cryptic crossword puzzle. When I've solved it (most of the time) or ceased the struggle for a time, I find a five letter word amongst the answers to start the Wordle, and then the Quordle.

This morning I gave up the struggle with the cryptic and remembered that Mr H had agreed to come with me to Fidelis Ave, to bring back (in two pieces) the large Kauri plank we bought an age ago. Despite having had a late night he was ready at the time I suggested. 

We found the old power saw in a cupboard in S' brother's house (was mother-in-law's). Mr H was a bit gob-smacked
by it; to be honest, so was I. This happened to be the same saw I had used in the early 1980s to cut the slate tiles for the floor I was making for m-i-l.

It still worked well and Mr H got about a quarter way through the cut, when he decided to get a hand saw. We shared the rest of the cutting and managed to avoid it splitting.

The next task was to put that and the various ceramic tiles we had left over from various things we'd had done to the beach house, into the car. Then back home. Dropped Mr H at his home and after lunch found safe dry places for these things we hope to be able to use as we finish the renovations of the A-Frame.

On a late afternoon walk I heard Tui singing and Kereru flying around. Saw none of either species. Until the one in my blip sped through the canopy provided by large forest trees. It alit on a branch near the top of a tree, and seemingly without there being any equal and opposite force to that involved in its flight. Very kindly it moved into my view, and it looks as though asking if I liked what it had just done.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.