Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

Heading home

(23/4/23)

The government has declared the Eid holidays for all sectors now, so we know that there are only three days of work (and Ramadan timings) left this year. *Sigh*. We love Ramadan timings - when it comes to work, but it's a different story to get things done as everyone else is also working shorter hours.

So today, the big thing was to get the Trade License renewed. I have until 19th April to do it and have left it too late. Having no printer at home, I had to visit a print shop first, and then we went to the office in Dubai Mall. As is too often the case, there is always a hiccup. Today I discovered I needed to update G's details on the system, except it wouldn't allow me to. Then the lady behind the desk cancelled my "payment voucher" to generate a new one. And then it dawned on me what a headache she created. Long story short, we had to leave without the result we wanted.

We went up to M&S to regroup. Thankfully, in the new Dubai, we can now have a drink and croissant in a shop, even during Ramadan. Whilst there, we bought our Coronation memorabilia t-shirts. G got a mug as well.

I then drove G to school to do her hour. It was good to come home to tackle the new problem that has arisen. My blip is of the road that brings us into our precinct. I had a silver lining. There is an opportunity at work until the end of July for which I am a good fit. This will help hugely with the cost of living crisis we're all currently facing. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.