Life in Sunny Dubai

By GadgetKid

The day after

G found out last night that school will remain closed today. I opted to work from home but found out later that the DWTC had cut off their power supply as a precautionary measure and had asked all the companies to ask their staff to WFH.

The day was beautiful, dry and sunny, so after I assessed what was there for me to tackle, G & I took a walk around our area to get some photographs. I fully expected the back road (my blip) which we use to access the car park to our buildings, to be drained and dry in the morning, but that was not the case. Just as well that G didn't need to go to school. You can't drive your car through this, plus it isn't all rainwater. :((

Nara still came, so we gave him time to clean my room first. I treated G to breakfast at a coffee shop that we discovered recently. They were open but had a missing front door. It had been ripped off by the wind yesterday! In typical Dubai style, the replacement was arriving in a few hours.

We got home via the grocery store, where I got the picture of the main street (my extra). I have never seen it flooded so badly in the 45 years I've lived on it. We heard from Diane. She didn't get to the coffee shop in time to join us, so came over to the flat. As Nara was still around, we got relegated to my room, which has enough seating for the three of us and our mugs. It was great to see her again and catch up on her news.

My workday finished at 6, and then G & I walked to the post office to check the box. All the main roads are operational again, with water ponds only in a few car park bays. The water on the back road had reduced, but not all gone, so we'll see if we can go out in the car tomorrow.

And that is it. Dubai has made the news all around the world. I've had friends messaging me from abroad to ask if we are OK. It's good to see a 24-hour city like this slowing down and stopping when required.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.