HelHSS

By HelHSS

Camberwell Beauty

Sunny, around +15. Felt quite warm.

I took a quick ride in the noon and now in the evening we stopped by in the garden to rake the rest of the autumn leaves.

In the noon in my round I saw the camberwell beauty flying around when photographing willow cats. As you can read below, the butterfly can be seen near willow cats in spring. Last years I've seen few of them, and earlier  ages ago. I don't know if they have become more common. I followed it quite a while to have a picture memory of it, but it was very difficult. Eventually I got the picture of it on the birch tree branch, at a hight of about three meters (in the picture).

Camberwell beauty (Nymphalis antiopa) is in Finland fairly common in the southern and central parts of the country, but it can be seen also as far north as Lapland. The butterfly hibernates as an adult. The spring sun awakens the butterfly from hibernation and it is one of the first the first butterflies that can be observed in nature in early spring. Then you can also see camberwell beauty on willow cats sucking nectar.

I also saw new wild flowers, butterflies and bumle bees. Nature has really awakened. But, much colder weather is forecast for next week.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.