Carrauntoohil

The cloud on the summits first thing wasn't encouraging but, in the end, I made the right call. Although I'd already walked 12km, when I saw a sign "Carrauntoohil 9km" it seemed careless not to try to climb it. I ended up having an epic day in Ireland's highest mountains. Having bagged the highest point in Ireland just as the last of the cloud cleared, there was an appealing high ridge walk that took me away from the crowds. However, it involved 750m of delicate scrambling that was challenging with 30+km in my legs. But I've got myself down safely and after three pints of Guinness - the United semi-final went to extra time and penalties - I'm now refuelled on seafood mornay.

Although there was a good deal of sunshine I liked this moody view of Carrauntoohil and the other peaks, but I've added a couple of extras

Still 13km from my accommodation. Hopefully I'll hitch a lift...

...but I didn't, so arrived back well after dark

A fine day

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.