Kilkenny

So, my card-less Irish adventure continues. I only needed the code, not my debit card to get my rail ticket to Kilkenny. There my nose for sport let me down as I walked out of the town to my accommodation as folk were streaming in for a Gaelic football semifinal. I thought of turning back and trying to get in, but I had luggage with me. In the end, the home team (Kerry) thrashed Tipperary 25-0 to 5-0, so I missed out on a cultural experience, but no great sporting excitement.

From my accommodation - 2.5 km out of the town - I set forth for food, only to find that the nearest bar only offers food in "the summer" so, after a pint of Guinness, I dropped into Kilkenny. There I found somewhere selling food for a decent price and a Guinness... well two... Thanks to this, some deep fried brie, a sumptuous lamb shank followed by apple pie and ice cream I'm now replete, and fuelled for whatever I manage tomorrow in the mountains.

Google pay isn't working, so I can't pay for my accommodation if I can't do a bank transfer. First world problems...

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.