IT'S MONDAY...

...so it must be Community Fridge Day!  I was there early this morning because Mr. HCB had to drop me off and then pick me up later because we had a funeral to go to, so I quietly got on with the various grotty jobs that needed doing.  However, being there early also meant that I could take photographs of the various things at the Fridge today before anyone was around.

We had two lovely ladies with us this morning from Healthwatch Swindon who are always smiling and are very helpful to many of our customers.  I did pick up a stress ball from their table, but don’t really feel that stressed so will save it for when I really need it!

We had lots of fruit and vegetables in our new stand and I loved the fact that there was just one lime in with the lemons - which made me think “There’s always one that’s different” and perhaps we should celebrate that rather than denigrating it!  After all, why should we all feel we have to conform and be something we’re not rather than being ourselves?  I feel some deep thinking going on there.  

The lady in the middle shot of my collage today is Norja, one of our lovely ladies who does a lot of work with the Bags of Hope and also at the Community Fridge.  She has been training for many weeks now and yesterday ran the London Marathon and won a medal - so WELL DONE, NORJA!  She was happy to pose for me and said it was fine for me to include her photograph in my collage. 

The bottom middle photograph shows Peter, one of our GHBC members giving Karen a hug - his hugs are very special and he is just such an amazing man - you would never think that in a month’s time he will be 93 years young - must be all the hugs he gets that keep him looking so young.  Perhaps we should start a hugathon then we might all look as good as him!

The funeral went very well - it was the husband of Mr. HCB’s cousin and it was interesting to speak to his four brothers and sister who all went to the same school as me.  We shared lots of different stories at the “wake” after the funeral - and it was also good to catch up with Mr. HCB’s brother and sister-in-law and also an old cricket pal and his wife. 

So now we are back home and I can assure you that there was nothing like this going on, although the wake was held in the function room of a local pub!

BRANNIGAN - noun
“A drinking bout; a spree or ‘binge’” – Brannigan was originally a North American slang word, but it is now rarely used. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.