Norwich Cathedral

I had to take my car in for its first service today, luckily the garage is near the park and ride bus into Norwich city centre. I first had a look around the cathedral and got a mono photo of the cloisters for Mono Monday. 

Then I visited the Castle to see the exhibition about the discovery announced in June last year of the shipwreck of the warship HMS Gloucester which went down in 1682 off the Norfolk coast, carrying the future King James II. I did the free tour which was fascinating, plus there was an interesting 20 min film, it’s being called Norfolk’s Mary Rose. It was fascinating to see the ship’s bell, lots of surviving wine bottles (some of which still had contents), and even textiles and personal effects. The canon have yet to be lifted. Two diving brothers found the wreck they’d been searching for in 2007 after a 4 year search - the exact location is being kept secret for obvious reasons. https://stories.uea.ac.uk/the-gloucester/

For my record……I asked the garage to re-check the car battery after its overnight charge at the end of Jan and the random error messages appearing again by the end of Feb. It failed, so they wanted to do another overnight charge, I refused as there’s clearly a battery fault as it gets driven several times a week (although my annual mileage is lower than average due to the car problems). They ended up putting in another battery at their own cost as Toyota would not allow a replacement under warranty. Toyota say the battery works ok if driven 10,000 miles a year, they should say this when selling the car, given that the average annual mileage in the UK is 7,400 and the car is therefore unsuitable for most car owners! The technician has reporting the error to Toyota about my sat nav taking up to 5 mins to show me the ‘Accept T’s and C’s’ screen which means I then lose the destination. A new software update was loaded. The paintwork scratches caused during  my last visit have been polished out. They’ve been told the car speed warning error is being caused by it reading dirty road speed signs which the car reads as being in km not miles - complete balderdash! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.