ArcLight+

By ArcLight

Colours

On Sunday, one of the domestic things I had to do was to bring all the remaining daffodils in from the balcony and put them in a vase on the dining room table. This year, we have quite a wide variety of different daffodils, and I especially like this one with coral coloured insets.

Back to the office today, although not before doing quite a tough peloton workout in the morning. Work was work, as it is. I managed to mark one dissertation. That's one down, three to go, plus a whole pile of other things that need to be read and commented on in the near future.

I was surprised, when I got to the bottom of North Bridge on the bike this morning, to see that the Bridge has reopened to traffic northbound. Doubtless it will soon be choked with traffic (the buses are still going up Chambers Street and I don't think most people have clocked the re-opening), but for now it is reasonably traffic free and made for a swift return home. Meanwhile, I encountered two pieces of bad road vehicle behaviour on my bike today. In the first, I was followed out of Balfour Street onto Leith Walk by a blue van. It went on to the road and I went on to the cycle path. As I approached Dalmeny Street it slowed down, so I assumed that it was doing the right thing and waiting for the cycle traffic (I had a green cycle light) before turning left. And then suddenly it pounced and went around the corner, cutting across me. Thank goodness I was prepared for this to happen and could stop. Secondly, I didn't go onto the cycle lane when going down the hill from the junction with London Road. There were two other bikes in the way, so I just trundled down the road itself towards a couple of buses which were stopped on Elm Row and then went on to the cycle path by the YMCA. Not before a taxi had honked at me for staying on the roadway, which is my right - cycle paths are voluntary - when it was in fact going nowhere as there were plenty of buses in the way....

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.