Whitethroat, White Smoke

I heard and saw newly arrived whitethroats at Burnham yesterday but didn't manage a pic. I see them every year in the area near the Longlands Hide at Fishers Green so off I went this afternoon. The weather was a bit rubbish but I could hear their scratchy song as soon as I got out of the car and I got a few so-so images. I love the fresh leaves and flowers.  

Suddenly I heard a very loud screeching of tyres, smelt burning rubber and saw smoke through the foliage. I went to investigate, fearing for my car. A guy in a BMW was doing doughnuts in the car park and his mate was filming it. (Extras) My heart was in my mouth in case he lost control and smashed into my car. There's a time and a place for doing doughnuts and I don't think mid afternoon in a nature park a few feet from my parked car is it.

In safer circumstances doughnuts do give me a buzz. My daughter and I loved the antics of the Greek contingent at Euromeet in 2009 and the Top Gear piece Grannies Doing Doughnuts is a classic. Old people can drive. Grannies can drive. :)  (The grannies are driving a yellow Honda S2000 like mine.) 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.