Stella2

By Stella2

Dartford Warbler

A lovely sunny day and I was off to Aylesbeare Common to find some Dartford Warblers.  It did take some time as they spend a lot of time on the ground and in low lying shrubs but I spotted a few single birds when they flew into the top of a gorse bush and then a pair quickly flew across my path.  After wandering around in the area I retraced my steps and watched as one flew to the top of a gorse bush and a few minutes later spotted one at a lower level in another bush.  That one is todays blip as I thought it looked rather cute.  The extras show just how long their tails are.  A lovely relaxing morning where I also saw stonechats and linnets.

After lunch I had a phone call from a work colleague who has kept in touch for a very long time.  We tend to meet up when he is visiting some of his family who live near to me.  He was in the area now and 20 minutes later he came round and we had a quick catchup over a cup of tea before I headed out to my afternoon book club meeting.  It was an enjoyable meeting.  So I have had a very active and sociable day.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.