ONCE AGAIN NOT ON THEME FOR WIDE WEDNESAY!

I have been a Domestic Goddess this morning and our bedroom now looks clean and sparkling - of course, not much housework got done while I was poorly, so it needed an extra little bit of DG work done and today was the day!

Whilst cleaning out some of the shelves in our wardrobe, I came across a box with various bits and pieces in it and was surprised to find the following, and although not a particularly clear shot, it does record what I found - from left to right:

An 1837 Queen Victoria penny - obviously very well used as it is almost smooth.

A silver (coloured) Commemorative Medal to mark the late Queen’s Coronation on 3rd June 1953.

A quite heavy gold (coloured) Commemorative Medal also to mark the late Queen’s Coronation on 3rd June 1953 - both these were given to us when we were at school - Mr. HCB would have been 11 years old and I would have been 9 years old.

As an aside, Mr. HCB’s cousin, whose husband’s funeral we attended earlier in the week, together with her mother and father, and Mr. HCB walked the route of the Coronation about a week before the event and saw all the decorations that had been put up for the occasion.  He says he can’t remember whether he was excited, but he was certainly tired after all that walking!

The next medal is from 1964 when Mr. HCB and his team mates won Division 3 of the Swindon Table Tennis League.  

Then there is a silver medal to mark the Silver Wedding Anniversary in 1972 of the Queen and Prince Philip.

Next are two medals that our older son won for playing chess while he was a Cub Scout.

The final medal is one Mr. HCB received for walking the Sarsen Train - Avebury to Stonehenge - in 2003, which he tells me can only be done on one day in the year, as it goes over Salisbury Plain and through the military areas.  

I have won various medals over the years for Singing in the Swindon Festival and Scripture Recitations when I was a Girl Covenanter - but can’t find them!

However, there is an extra photograph of me with the shield I won in about 1964 when I was 19 years of age.  I did go upstairs to look in the box I have marked “Treasures”, to see if I could find any of my medals, and  although I came across quite a few poignant letters and photographs, there were no medals - so you will just have to believe that I won them.

I wonder how many of those reading this today could be described as a Librocubicularist?

LIBROCUBICULARIST - Noun
A person who reads in bed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.