NATURAL ABSTRACT - RAIN STOPPED PLAY!

After getting up earlier than usual to make Mr. HCB’s lunch for his day at cricket, I waved him off, but he wasn’t that confident that he would be there for the whole day.

I decided to do some more decluttering in my Quiet Room and whilst doing so listened to some old tapes from a Lee Abbey visit many years ago, when Adrian Plass was the speaker.  Whilst listening, I chuckled when I heard him mention his little girl, who was 4 years old at the time, because I remember that she sidled up to me and asked me if I would like to give her some money to buy sweets!  Of course, I refused - but her mother overheard, remonstrated with her and thanked me for refusing!  I remember it was a great week, but I also remember I cried a lot because he was speaking about God being “Our Dad” and that brought up some sad memories for me.  

Anyway, I digress!  Mr. HCB messaged me at 12.19 to say that rain had stopped play so he was taking an early lunch.  I said it wasn’t raining here, but his glum response was “Give it an hour!”  Sure enough by 1.34 it was raining quite hard, so I decided to take some photographs of the rain on our bedroom window as I thought they made a good “natural abstract”, which is today’s AT theme.  At 1.21 Mr. HCB messaged to say “Still raining hard here so I’m coming home.”

By 2.27 Mr. HCB arrived home and after commiserating with him, asked if I could take a photograph - and I think he looks suitably miserable and glum, don’t you?  He says he may go tomorrow, but will see what the weather is like in the morning.  Such a shame, but then this is England and we all know what the English weather is like!  In fact, it is so cold, that our heating has kicked in and it’s only set on 18°C!  

However, it does give me a chance to use one of the words from last Friday - it is a malagrugorous day - i.e. dismal, gloomy and grim - as far as Mr. HCB is concerned anyway!

I guess it’s why our land is “green and pleasant” but it would be good if it could stop raining for a few days so that at least Mr. HCB can enjoy some cricket, although he is now sitting in the warm, eating the rest of his lunch and watching cricket from Jaipur in India, where it looks like a lovely sunny evening.

There may be some of this in India, but definitely none here or in Bristol!

KOMOREBI - noun
A Japanese word that means sunlight filtering through the trees.

P.S.  Mr. HCB has just told me that he felt a little bit sad today as he sat in the seats where he and Keith usually sat - so I gave him a big hug.  I said to him when I had made the collage, what colour do you want me to put round the outside and he said "A miserable one!"  The green I chose was too bright he said, but this one was more in keeping with how he is feeling. Bless him.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.