Getting stuck in

The day was drier and sunnier than I'd expected, and so I got a few jobs done in the garden in the morning. The main one was to uproot a young greengage tree that just hasn't flourished in its allotted spot. Tomorrow I'll put in a cherry there instead, ready to fan-train up a sunny wall. With luck, this one will do better.
Taking a break between bouts of digging, I got engrossed in watching bees and hoverflies.
Later I picked Frieda up from preschool, and we had an amiable couple of hours together. Then it was Greek class at 6 - our first one since before Easter. It always takes a while to get back into the swing of Greek conversation on Zoom - if you can call it 'swing', as we all stumble along. We are getting better though, bit by bit.  I still find the contrast difficult,  between my 69 year old memory and the memory I was used to in younger days... there was a time when hearing a new word once or twice - in a different language - was enough to embed it. Not any more. However: now I've got accustomed to the need for many more repetitions, it still feels manageable. For that, I'm grateful.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.