Jack James

By JackJames

The Hidden Glen :: 22 times around the sun

My birthday! 20680000000km traveled on this small planet.

Day off, so had a lovely relaxed morning, catching up on blip and listening to The Life Scientific on radio 4. After stockpiling all my cards and presents into my bag, I looked at the forecast and saw that it was looking to be an amazing afternoon of sun, so packed a bag full of snacks and set off towards town.

Before I'd even reached the door, I was met by the receptionist, who informed me that I should go over the road and check out the kitchen. I had a sneaky suspicion that there would be a cake waiting for me, but I hadn't imagined the extravagance of it - 3 layers of rich chocolate and jam sponge. Amazing, and so unexpected that it was really touching, especially how Ewa had made it in her own time at home.

After a healthy slice, I set off on roughly the same route as a few days ago, heading for a gorge that I'd spied from the footpath. I went a new route, though twisted oak forest, covered in so much moss and lichen that it was like swimming though a soft green sea. I sat, looking down the valley, and as the predicted sun came though the clouds, had a nice chat with the mother and opened some of my cards.

I found the gorge gleaming in the sun, and picked my way across the river to the other side, where rocks bathed in sunlight while the water bubbled past, crystal clear with the rocky bed below. I set myself up, paper in hand, and watched the water run, before getting enough courage to take a dip in the water. Cold cold cold, but amazing - just me and the water and the wind and the sun, with the brilliant rock faces coursing high about me.

After baking myself dry on the rock, I explored a little further up, and found an old walkway that had been fixed to the rock face. It was old, and had worn badly, but I still couldn't resist walking along it - heart pounding as the wood and steel bent under my weight. It led me to a fantastic waterfall, with deep swimming pools below. Like something out of an adventure book, one had to balance along a single iron girder to get there, with the water running below. Amazing.

After a while I set off home, and sat out in the garden with Liz and Becky, sharing drinks as the sun went down. I opened the presents that I'd been saving from earlier, and very nice they were too. Worth the wait.

A good birthday.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.