An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

Two days in a row....

I've had lunch at the golf club!  But more on that later.

I had the day planned to perfection.  Up, shower, get dressed, finish packing my art, crochet and photography equipment.  Go to D's sister's for lunch (Esme was going to be there so was looking forward to seeing her) come home, finish the rest of the packing for going away tomorrow, chill.

Managed to get the shower and dressed bit done but as I was about to blow dry my hair I noticed something odd at the base of my neck just above my collar bone...a swelling the size and shape of an egg.  As I have no recollection of swallowing a whole egg, and since we are away tomorrow for a week, I thought I better try and have a discussion with a GP about it.  Of course it was too late in the day to be included in the normal GP call backs (have to phone at 8am for that) but the receptionist was really helpful and said she would ask the On Call GP to phone me, but she couldn't give me a time.  

Given the location of the swelling (I was thinking thyroid) I suspected the GP would want to see me, and since Ele lives 45 minutes away I had no choice but to cancel going for lunch :-(

The GP called and as I suspected, wanted to examine me so I went to the Health Centre early afternoon.  

He was a new GP to me, young, very pleasant and very thorough (he asked me to open my mouth so he could check my throat and announced it "pristine!"  That made me laugh :-))  

Once he'd completed his examination he was able to reassure me that it wasn't my thyroid, and was bony in origin.  Apparently I have an inflamed sternoclavicular joint!  He has prescribed ibuprofen gel and says it should settle down.  If, however, it becomes more painful, the area turns red or warm while we are away, I've to call 111.  Oh joy.

When I said cheerio to Janice yesterday, my last words were "Lets see if I can get through the next month to our next lunch date without any medical incidents."  The universe obviously took that as a dare!

Since our lunch at Ele's was cancelled we popped into the golf club and had lunch there.  This meant we could go home and get an early start on the rest of the packing.  Mine was completed by 5pm.  Just the last minute stuff to include, which I will do in the morning.  

So a fairly relaxed evening with some crochet and a snooze!

Alan is looking forward to being home alone with his team.  I am hoping things will be straightforward with the cover in place while we're away.  We always organise on-call cover but it's already being challenged as Vickie is off sick.   Ashleigh who was covering Vickie's shift today and is due back in tomorrow to cover another of Vickie's shifts, has messaged to say she's been throwing up this evening so won't manage in tomorrow.  Poor Blake (who's just back this week after being off ill) is now coming in tomorrow to cover for Ashleigh but can't get here till later in the morning.  

Earlier today David spoke to the woman who owns the cottage we are staying at next week and she said it's all ready for us and we could arrive anytime and not have to wait till 4pm as stated in the information pack.  We had hoped to be up and away by 10am but that's not looking likely.  

I feel like I have typed the following a million times on blips, and here I go again. Things are never straightforward! 

Wish us luck :-)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.