Small is Beautiful

A good way of explaining why I like alpine plants so much .... that and the mountain habitats.

Oxalis enneaphylla, grown as an alpine, it comes from the southern tip of South America where it can grow right down to sea level, just as some arctic alpines do in far northern latitudes.   It grows from scaly rhizomes.  I have grown it outside but in a pot under glass it does a bit better ... and the slugs cannot get to the flowers!

A very productive day.  Lots of ticks on the list.   Mostly admin tasks but they all needed doing.   Most important, I have booked my flights for a trip to Switzerland in June.  Meg had a walk and we met another dog whom she's seen before, today her reaction was much calmer.  We might have found a new friend for her.   

Ruth is still in hospital, her high temperature gone.  More tests are being talked of but she's not keen on the thought as they are rather invasive.  It's still a waiting game but at least she's in better spirits.  Tomorrow I'm going over and will hopefully get to see her.  Unfortunately, I can't leave early so special visiting arrangements may be needed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.