Fotomatikus

By hazelh

Posh 'Family Fest' weekend pad

We left Edinburgh at 5:50am for our 8-hour journey south to Somerset to spend the weekend with Mr hazelh's mother, sisters, their partners, our brother-in-law Richard, and three of our niblings.

Mr hazelh was the main driver, covering most of the miles. I volunteered for the trickiest part of the route between Preston and Birmingham. I think that I last drove on a (quiet Scottish) motorway in 2019, and it is years since I have driven on the M6, so this was probably not the best place to reacquaint myself with motorway driving!

We are all delighted with our weekend accommodation. The house is like a cross between my mother's house, the shooting lodge that my parents used to rent for our family summer holidays, and the château of 'my' French family. It's very well equipped and has plenty of space for us all.

Mr hazelh and I volunteered to cook dinner on our first night here. We served Lochinver pies, mushy peas, and mashed potatoes followed by fruit salad. The menu was perhaps not appropriate to the grand setting of the long dining room (blipped)!

Exercise today: none.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.