Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Greater Spotted Woodpecker

Another glorious day.  Spotted (haha!) this female GWS cleaning out an old nest site in preparation for this year's chicks - I hope.  Someone asked me whether it was male of female to which I replied in smartie sexist manner that if it was housework being done it had to be female, hahaha!!

And yes, it is female for sure.

Came back from the reserve for a late breakfast, then a quick trot down to the local allotments (of which more anon) before taking Hazel for a walk.  Saw a lot of butterflies on the latter,: orange tips, whites, a red admiral.  Sadly at that point I didn't have the camera.

Which reminds me to say, a big thank you for all your lovely comments and other kindnesses for yesterday's.

Enjoy your Saturday night and have a great Sunday  xx

PS: At last, there are suddenly about a billion tadpoles in the reserve's pond - I was worried we weren't going to get any

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.