Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

Rainy Days

My day started earlier than normal because the cats were restless which got Jax wound up ... and then there was no choice but to haul myself out of bed.  Not entirely bad because I was able to get Jax out before the rain started up.  And then he wanted to snuggle for a while on the sofa which also isn't a bad way to start the day.

I had a nice FT chat with my parents today - hard to believe I was with them last Sunday morning!  Anyway, we had a good time catching up and chatting about this and that.  

Hubs made it to Huntsville a little after noon and by 2 he was back on the road, headed north.  I've never been drawn to cemeteries or visiting people in them although I know that it is a great sense of connection for people who visit loved ones in cemeteries and crypts.  Because of my rather nomadic childhood (government job kept us moving ever few years) and the fact that I lived a continent away from any extended family, I just never went to cemeteries.  But my husband had a very different childhood and grew up with lots of extended family, and visiting family member's graves was a long-held custom.  He still goes out to Long Island to visit the graves of his grandparents at least once a year, and tries to get down to Alabama to visit his brother and father as often as possible too.  I am glad he finds peace with this.

The rain started in Ernest around 11 and I had to trick Jax into going out a short while ago to attend to business.  He hates the rain so much - and fortunately he has a young bladder that he can hold for hours and hours.  He is also quite content to nap on the sofa while it rains outside although later this afternoon he will require some activity to burn off energy.  Tomorrow the weather should be better and we will, hopefully, get out for a walk.  We both need it!

Because I knew I wasn't going to get out with a camera today, I found myself in front of the old Singer sewing machine with a couple of spools of old threads.  SIL will eventually take the sewing machine but I will ask if I can keep a couple of the old threads just because they are really quite wonderful.  I had a hard time picking the one I liked the best today so I will put one in Extra - let me know if you have a favorite?

I just had a delicious square of plain 85% dark chocolate - very chocolatey and not very sweet.  I may even have one more later.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.