Life's Little Moments

By dbifulco

A Kerfluffle

We have a bumper crop of Downy Woodpeckers this year - at least 3 separate pairs, probably more.  So, little stand-offs near the feeders is unavoidable.  Here two females were waiting - impatiently - for a seat to open up at the Suet Bar.  Words were exchanged, wings were flared, heads were bobbed, and then one both flew off.  Rarely to they make physical contact, but they do a lot of bobbing and weaving and flaring.  At six inches, they can't help being cute.

The rain arrived overnight so things are damp outside.  Jax hates rain so his trips outside have been extremely efficient.  And he was content to stay on the sofa when I ventured out briefly with my camera.  Later on I will need to set up some nose hides for him and we will do a little training too - all designed to burn off young dog energy when a walk isn't in the cards.

Hubs left early this morning to drive to Alabama.  Both his brother and father are interred there and he takes comfort in being able to have some quiet reflective time with them.  It's a long drive (about 900 miles) so he will stop somewhere tonight and continue the drive tomorrow.  Bittersweet trip for him.  

I decided to rent a mirrorless camera body (and lens adapter) to take to Costa Rica with me.  Bit of an extravagance but gives me a longer field test with the Z6ii which is supposedly better for wildlife than the Z7ii.  And of course I will have my D850 which is a wonderful camera.  I've been waiting for months for Nikon to announce the new Z8 and still nothing but speculation.  The top end Nikon mirrorless is really too much weight for me (heavier than the D850) so I'm hoping the Z8 will be lighter.  But the Z6ii may be a viable option.  At any rate, CR will be an excellent way for me to field test it.  

I am thinking dark with raspberry today.

xo
Debbi

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.