My topsy-turvy life

By Rathmandu

They're not all for me

Shrewsbury Point to Point 10K
46:33

My first race since Giant's Head and a repeat of the last year's Point to Point...with this year being even wetter.

After hanging about in Upton Magna in the rain, the first 3K is pretty much all downhill before hitting the old canal tow path* and then along the river to finish in The Quarry. 
I was pretty pleased with the time after I thought I was on for about a minute slower, but I was spurred on by chasing a couple of people down over the last Km or so, culminating in a sprint finish that I both lost and won. The guy I started sprinting with pipped me on the line but that took both of us past somebody else, with the three of us registering the same gun time.

After a spot of recovery and an obligatory medal shot selfie for Louisa* I went to Planet Doughnut -in the rain- to get treats for all of us, before going to meet Owen and Louisa at football. As I walked out of Planet Doughnut clutching my 'prize' I passed one of the actual prize winners with his trophy.
One of us probably felt more virtuous than the other at that point. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.