Teasel

By Teasel

Mother

After our late night, I was worried we might sleep in this morning.  We didn’t, though everything was rather rushed.  BB had to be at rugby by 9am, and we just made it.  Today was a rugby 7s tournament and both TT and I went to watch.  Once we found the pitches, we dropped BB off and went for a wander, which ended in Lidl, where I purchased a few snacks and fruit for BB, as he was going straight to play football after the tournament.  BB and I picked up breakfast rolls from a shop near the rugby pitches, which were most welcome and kept us going for the rest of the day.  I won’t mention the tomato ketchup which went all down the front of my coat!
 
BB’s team played brilliantly and won the tournament.  Hurrah!  They have a core of really fast players, of which BB is one, and they played their socks off. All in all a very exciting morning for us spectators, which helped to distract us from the cold – it was freezing.  Very grey and very cold.  Once rugby was done we left one former coal  mine (Pennypit)and headed to another in Gorebridge (Emily), for a top of the table clash (interesting that the two pitches were on the sites of former coal mines).  We got there late and struggled to find the pitch,  I left BB and TT, and went in search of a bottle of water as BB had run out.  By the time I got back to the game it had started to drizzle.  I watched for a bit, but I was so cold, I wandered off for a walk – not really knowing where I was going, but followed some paths to Gore Glen.  I got back just as the game was ending, to find out that BB’s team had won.  Hurrah, they are top of the table again.
 
We headed straight home and we all tried to warm up.  BB had a shower, TT did some gardening and I walked to the supermarket to get a few things for tea.  It didn’t really warm me up and I just continued to feel cold for ages, even though I had the oven on and was cooking tea.
 
We had a quiet evening. – but it’s been a fantastic day of sport for BB and his team mates.
 
The rugby pitch was near a kirkyard – where a number of old gravestones have been built into the wall – including this one of a mother and her children.  It's very weathered, and the light was almost non existent on such a grey day.
 
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.