Still Rockin'

By RockArea

Lochan na h-Achlaise

A lovely morning with sun breaking though the clouds to light up the far bank of Loch Linnhe. Isn't that the way it goes on the day we start travelling home.  Passing through Rannoch Moor I could see a little snow on the top of Black Mount the range beyond the lochan. I didn't take a lot of trouble over it I'm afraid, I just fired off four shots from the roadside to make a panorama. I think it's come out pretty well. Incidentally, the translation of Lochan na h-Achlaise to English is Lake of the Armpit. I think I prefer the Gaelic.

Today's journey went well and we arrived in Penrith, where we're staying tonight. Once we'd settled into the hotel we went off to Aira Force to stretch our legs. We parked at Gowbarrow and walked up to the falls. It was a bit too bright to photograph the falls but the walk did us good. I've added on as an extra.

It's thirty years today since Marian and I met for the first time so we pushed the boat out for a nice hotel with a good restaurant rather that the Premier Inn and Brewers Fayre we stopped at on the way up!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.