Fotomatikus

By hazelh

North Somerset Agricultural Show

These are Welsh badger sheep from my cousins' farm on display at the North Somerset Agricultural Show today. We enjoyed VIP status at the show, sporting white 'Governor' badges thanks to our cousins' heavy involvement in the show's organisation: the husband of my first cousin once removed is Past President and Past Chairman; his son (my second cousin) is currently Vice Chairman, and will be Chairman in 2026.

On arrival at the show just before midday, we headed straight to the members' enclosure to meet everyone in our party. We were three generations of my family ranging in age from 13 months to 67, plus my cousins' friends Chris and Sue. After drinks and lunch we split into pairs and threes to wander around the livestock pens and exhibitors' stands, and watch competitions such as the tractor pulling. Then it was back to our sunny spot in the members' enclosure to watch the Grand Parade, which included a champion ginger highland cow called Hazel!

This evening back at the farm we gathered for drinks in the drawing room for chat and a present exchange. Mr hazelh and I handed over my 'hand made' ruby wedding anniversary present to our hosts. This is a box of all things ruby that I have been collecting for the past few weeks. My cousins surprised me with a beautiful pearl and single diamond bracelet for my 60th birthday. (I may have done rather better than my hosts on that deal!)

Our day ended with a very convivial supper for six around the kitchen table. Peaches the pet lamb (extra) was allowed in for a while, but did not sit with us for her bottle (served in part by me).

Exercise today: small amount of walking (8111 steps).

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.