CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

A purple geranium and vinca flowers

The mass of spring growth has brought many pretty vinca flowers onto an old flower and rather overgrown flower bed next to the patio. A few days ago I noticed this purple geranium has appeared completely voluntarily. It is rather attractive. I also like the small insect, possibly a type of hoverfly, which is resting on the left of the main flowers.

I think a bird may have eaten seed and deposited it when sitting on the branch of the goat willow tree tight above this picture. You can see a white deposit on an adjacent leaf which has been dropped by one such bird. 

I don't recognise this particular colour so it may be a hybrid of several geraniums in our or local gardens. I hope it spreads further this year, although this particular plant will probably have to be moved from this spot. The vincas certainly have to be cut right back as they are so invasive.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.