An insect on the wisteria flowers

On the patio in the afternoon sunshine I waited hopefully for some birds to visit the sunflower feeder I'd just replenished. However I've noticed that the numbers of birds in the garden are much reduced, which I'm hoping is a reflection of the breeding season and not any other nastier causes.

After a time sitting on a seat in the doorway of the cabin I wandered outside to lookat flowers. the wisteria buds have begun to open and I focused on the ones growing in front of the window of the cabin.

An insect flew across my line of sight and then landed where a wisteria branch was nestling against the window. It spread itself and then rested for a short time. When I focused on it I was reminded of a daddy long legs  but this was a much more stout and larger insect, though I still don't know what it was. 

I was surprised to see it so early in the season, as the weather still seemed relatively cool. I noticed it has two green protuberances just behind its head and eyes. I wish it had been facing me rather than the window. Then it flew away.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.