Gently down the stream

By Miranda1008

Joy wins

In the reserve very early watching the sun appear.  The fire damage is not as bad as I'd been told, though bad enough!  The reason I say 'not so bad' is that the burnt area was in the middle of the reedbeds, not near any of the large trees and so away from some of the birds I feared affected.  You can see a stretch of it above.  Small trees were scorched and at least one charred nest found.  However, hopefully the majority of nesting birds won't have been scared off. 

The whole place stank of burning.

As I walked, though, I still heard and saw a lot of joyful activity from the sedge warblers down at the end the fire didn't touch.  The marsh marigolds were glowing, while this reed bunting kept watch on the other side of the river.  This all made me happy, as did the deer I saw, also across the water.  I didn't see the pregnant doe.

A little later I will add below a list of Hearts and Hon Mentions for WFW23_04.

Enjoy your Wednesday - and thank you for all your sympathy yesterday.  Very kind.  It was in the end a small tragedy, but horrid as tragedies always are  xx


Okay, RESULTS from last week's #WFW23_04 challenge..

HEARTS (later tonight) go to:
ApolloFly
hollyyoung
cazzfoto
HilarysView
madwill

Hon Mentions to:
ThingsBeautiful
JanetMayes
evolybab
MollyG
inukshukne
kryton

..and my thanks to you all x

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.