I am camera

By Martinski

Martinski at Ross FM back in the day

In 1995, 1996 and 1997 I was a volunteer presenter with Ross FM, a community radio station licensed for 10 week stints on the air. It wasn’t just talking into a microphone, I had to opeate all the equipment too. I was mostly on my own in this basement room, flying by wire and sometimes fouling up. Relaxing it was not, but I got quite good at coming up with playlists, usually ones spanning several decades. I was then head hunted by Scottish Internet Radio and turned them down because I had my own music to do.
    My first show was called Heartbeat, the second, The Beat, and the third, The Big Beat. I did themed shows, Christmas specials etc. I played vinyl, Cds and even cassettes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.