a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Meadow Pipit No2

Another early morning start, and another hike across the Mendips with the big lens.  

For the main image I've gone for Meadow Pipit standing on the little grass mound (probably caused by ants)  even though I featured one on 28th April - mainly because I like the backlighting and the background demonstrates how blowy it actually was on the hills this morning.

For the first extra there's a shot of a brown hare, which I saw by chance, hiding behind a hedge in the sunshine, as I was about half a mile from home.  The direction of the breeze meant that I was able to able to park my car and then creep back along the hedge and take his portrait while he was still working out what was going on.  

Another half a mile along the road there is a small crossroads, where I came across the red kite, which was obsessing over some prey that it had clearly just missed out over, judging from the straw in its talons.  Once again I was able to stop the car and get the shots that I wanted while he ignored me, circling for his breakfast - he didn't get it though.  

After all of that, I was able to start my Mendip walk, with a light heart, knowing that I'd already got some shots in the bag.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.