Acts of deliberate notice

By Yaviere

The importance of prototypes

I am a firm believer in humans being happiest when they are creating. After a day of feeling like I'm not getting very far at work, I needed to make. 

This is part of a book sleeve I am working on to protect my books when travelling. I have used a couple of fat quarters I had lying around with a thin layer of wadding in between, then I have freehand machine-stitched a swirly quilting over the top. This is a project born completely out of my head and as with all such things there have been some kinks to work out. Unfortunately, I decided to go straight in for it with my nice fabrics rather than making up a prototype. Luckily for me there have not yet been any disasters, but were I to make another I know what I would do differently! 

Note to self: Even if it feels boring, ALWAYS make a prototype.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.