fitzbilly

By fitzbilly

Abundant Forget-Me-Nots

We have rather a lot of these in the garden now, but I don't mind.

A bit of an emergency blip as I have been in a panic over our broadband all morning. We had the RCD trip again and when the power came back on the router wasn't working, saying the cable was disconnected, which it wasn't. I tried all sorts of solutions, finally resurrecting the old BT kit which I had replaced a good while ago now. That wouldn't work either, the dreaded purple flashing light showing there was no broadband connection.

After some text messaging with BT I finally got to speak with a very helpful but non-technical person who suggested we needed an engineer visit. The first appointment though is Tuesday.

I told them it was a waste of time sending us a mini EE hub as that didn't work before, but I had a message saying they are sending one anyway. In the meantime I thought I would try using our smart phones as tethering hubs, and bingo, they work, at a reasonable speed too. So we should be OK until next week. We now have unlimited data on the phones too until we are reconnected. Sometimes BT get things right.

I wouldn't be surprised if the RCD thing was just a coincidence, as we noticed yesterday that Gigaclear were doing a lot of work along the high street. I think it's more likely that they have done something to disrupt the service.

Extra attached from the Town Crier Competition yesterday evening. The bloke won.

I seem to be behind again on blip journals, that's my next job, broadband availability and speed permitting.

One year ago:
Butterfly

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.