pocketfullononsense

By dunkyc

Coronation Chicken

I’ve been ruminating on the coronation and trying to decide whether I give a cr*p.

On the one hand, there’s a sense of occasion (not quite like the Jubilee or the Queen’s funeral) with a few Union Jacks dotted here and there, fluttering in the wind and bestowing a casual sense of national pride.

The drop-off at school this morning was quite cute with the children all dressed in various shades of red, white and blue and they were all very excited for an afternoon off to picnic and celebrate the coronation. It was nice to see and I had a fleeting sense of the warm and fuzzies - no mean feat considering how I feel about that school at present.

On the other hand, there there’s the monarchy itself. Does an entitled, non-elected, rich and highly dysfunctional family, with whom I have zero contact have any bearing on my day to day life? Not that is immediately obvious to me. Would I miss them if they weren’t there? Probably not.

Then there is the cost of the whole affair. Estimates are far ranging (last googling was anywhere between £50m-£100m) and this is a lot of cash at the best of times, let alone when some are having to chose between food or heat. I have always been fortunate enough to have never known a time when those things were mutually exclusive, but the fact that they are in this day and age is truly shocking. Think of all the good that good be done with that kind of money…<cough, cough> Shell and BP <cough cough>.

I digress a little, but all that money for the pomp and ceremony of putting an expensive sparkly hat on a grown man in a cape (I’m guessing/hoping) does seem excessive.

I’m sure I’ll watch the proceedings along with millions of others, but returning to my original postulation: as I watch on tomorrow, will I gave a cr*p? 

On balance, no, I don’t think I will. There’s too many far more important things going on in the world (see: “the news”) that we could have spent £50m-£100m on*.

Regardless, it’s the weekend and it’s another long one, so however we all choose to spend it, I hope we all have fun coronating or otherwise! 


*I should have mentioned: LadyV has tapped me up for an expensive afternoon tea on the prom tomorrow, so my conclusion may be influenced somewhat by the draining of my wallet for an undersized cake to follow a sandwich with the crusts cut off**. 

**Hypocrisy is alive and well.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.